Polly

Writings and Witterings

Clapping Rhyme

9 Comments

I am a sad case (OK, OK, don’t go over the top with that one!) I have sadly fallen behind with the napowrimo challenge over the past couple of weeks, so I’m going to try to make up for it over the coming weekend … not that there’s the remotest chance of catching up completely, but an attempt will be made!

Our challenge from napowrimo today, 27 April, is to write a nursery rhyme or clapping rhyme. Napowrimo say ‘Most nursery and clapping rhymes have strong rhythms, use rhyme and repetition extensively, and aren’t overly concerned with making sense.’

Oh good – I can be as daft as I like … wonder who will spot the inspiration for this one!

Clapping Rhyme

One, two, three
Mother caught a flea
Father wanted sugar in his cup of tea
The sugar fell, Father threw a bell
And they all went to Jericho rather than to hell

Clap clap, clap your hands, clap your partners hands
Clap clap, cross your right with your left arm
Clap clap, clap your hands, clap your partners hands
Clap clap, cross your left with your right arm

Now bow

My Facebook told me
To update status
Then friends would find me,
No more hiatus

My Skype informed me
Contacts online now
And they were signed in
Minutes before me

One, two, three
Mother caught a flea
Father wanted sugar in his cup of tea
The sugar fell, Father threw a bell
And they all went to Jericho rather than to hell

Clap clap, clap your hands, clap your partners hands
Clap clap, cross your right with your left arm
Clap clap, clap your hands, clap your partners hands
Clap clap, cross your left with your right arm

Now bow

Polly Robinson © 2012

9 thoughts on “Clapping Rhyme

  1. I’m glad no one went to hell in your nursery rhyme. Is always a good thing. :)

    Loved it!

    Like

  2. I’m guessing this was inspired by “The Clapping Song”… Am I right?

    Like

  3. I have been absent from the blogosphere for a new days due to technology, but it’s nice to find a clapping rhyme to clap along to on my return!
    Actually, whilst typing this, I’ve had to stamp my feet instead – sorry neighbours… ;)

    Like

  4. I applaud you ! Sincerely ~Deborah

    Like

Leave a reply

