Polly

Writings and Witterings

Mindful Writing Challenge ~ January 2013 ~ Small Stone 31

24 Comments

Day 31

My favourites are turquoise ink and purple ink. Black ink and blue ink are OK for every day, but to get away from the mundane sometimes is good, like for birthdays and other special occasions. When I was growing up, ink colour had particular and well-known associations eg black was used for sympathy cards or to write letters of condolence, blue was the ‘accepted’ colour for correspondence, green denoted envy or jealousy, red denoted anger. Few wrote in green or red in those days unless … Now we have myriad colours available. We’ve moved on from the ubiquitous blue Quink.

Polly Robinson © 2013

107-365 Ink

107-365 Ink (Photo credit: johngarghan)

24 thoughts on “Mindful Writing Challenge ~ January 2013 ~ Small Stone 31

  1. All true. Funny. I think the shade of green may have made a difference though – deeper, artistic. k.

  2. Let’s hear it for the purple ink but I was also a fan of one called Peacock Blue! When I could (at an early age) would treat myself to a new fountain pen and cartridges in those colours!

    Red for anger, I doubt your teachers ever covered your papers with this colour. We can give things our own labels and I like to think of red as rather defiant. It can be one of my favourites when my poison pen is needed! :)

    I have also enjoyed writing with white on black paper. Thanks for the memories! I feel a need for colour…

  3. I like the sound of Peacock Blue. heh-heh re teachers and red ink … I got my share! Glad you enjoyed this small stone Lea :)

  4. Now I have the urge to get out all my coloured pens and… And it is all your fault! :)

  5. THATS IT I am buying a well and some quills, an insignent ring and wax! I need to write!

  6. Congrats for making it through the small stones!

  7. This made me think, why am I not surrounded by pens with turquoise and violet? My favorite colors, and I keep sticking with the mundane. Gotta go to the stationery store now! Turquoise, I’m comin’ for ya, baby!!! Thanks, too, for stopping by my blog and commenting on the Puerto Rico poem. I agree, the espanol is so much more lush… Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.com/2013/01/31/chanteuse-in-sneakers/

  8. Indeed we do and thank goodness … and I share the same memories. It wasn’t as much fun.

  9. I can’t believe I missed this yesterday!

  10. Quink ink…takes me right back to my school days

  11. Oh I used to love the turquoise quink! I used the blue black for school – I was always covered in the stuff – maybe that is why I always use pencil for writing! :)

Leave a reply

