Polly

Writings and Witterings

Sundew

47 Comments

With thanks to Myfanwy Fox for sharing a photo and a fascinating article about a carnivorous plant on Facebook.

SundewPhoto from National Geographic

Sundew
Photo from National Geographic

Sundew

DroPlets
SwEEt secrEtions
Sundew eNsNares insects
Leaves with minusCule proJections
STicKy

Polly Robinson © 2013

Written to Tony Maude‘s inspiring prompt to write a cinquain, a five-line poem with twenty-two syllables laid out two, four, six, eight, then two again. at dVerse Poets Form for All – The Cinquain

47 thoughts on “Sundew

  1. I like the way your capital letters seem to mirror the forms in the picture! I’ve got a thing about dewdrops, sundew, honeydew… it must stem from that immortal line ‘for he on honeydew hath fed/and drunk the milk of paradise’ – which to me is about creative inspiration everywhere.

    Like

    • Ahhhh … Kubla Khan … wonderful, an unforgetable line. I found out a few days back that we have the great-great-great-great-great nephew of Samuel Taylor Coleridge living locally [or, at least, he has a weekend home nearby].

      Thanks for your comment Marina, glad you enjoyed it.

      Like

  2. Oh those drops for the insects so tempting, yet deadly

    Like

  3. kinda scary huh…the sweet secretions drawing you in and then wham…
    ha. the upper case lower case made me read this really slow….

    Like

  4. Ooh, well done. I love the style of this piece.

    Like

  5. I really enjoyed this! Wonderful word play with the subject!

    Like

  6. Nicely done Polly! Fascinating things aren’t they.

    Like

  7. Nice blog Polly!!!! I’m following you!!! A big kiss from Italy!!!

    Like

  8. Very interesting plant, and a nice poem to describe it. Cool post, Polly!

    Like

  9. the piece of poetry as unusual as the pic… nice

    Like

  10. Perfect match here, Polly… the caps and projections.

    Like

  11. Love the picture, love the poem, love the wordplay and the poetic devices you’ve managed to tuck into just 5 short lines. Beautiful, Polly – unless you’re an insect, I guess :-)

    Like

  12. I have always been fascinated by this plant. This, and those pitcher plants.

    Like

  13. i like how you slow us down by using caps…cool wordplay as well..

    Like

  14. Really liked how you paced the reading of the poem with the use of capital letters – a great theme too.

    Like

  15. A science poem exemplar ! I swear, we ought to collect science poems for kids. Great write.

    My daughter is thinking about getting a venus fly trap. I had never heard of Drosera (sundews) — I can’t believe I don’t know about this little blood thirsty fellow. Apparently they exist in North America. Wow. But apparently they are on the endangered list in several states — probably cause little elementary girls love horror plants — or is only my gal like that? ;-) Or maybe the greedy herbalists have wiped them out. Thanx for the intro !!

    Like

  16. Polly, I loved the prompt – how Tony taught us about things to avoid, like cramming syllables to fit the word count, making every final word of a phrase intentional.

    You obviously took this to heart. Hell of a cinquain, really packs a punch. Sticky, eeeew. (wink) Amy

    http://sharplittlepencil.com/2013/03/15/cinquains-amy-tackles-a-form/

    Like

    • Ha! We both got good things from Tony’s clear advice. ‘Mood swings’ was just the perfect final line on your first cinquain and I loved the way the inflection fell.

      Good to see you liked ‘Sundew’ ~ helluva plant, I’d say ;)

      Like

  17. Oooh! Carnivorous plants? I think I have a poem (in draft form) about them. Fascinating things! Like this a lot Polly. Abstract. And the pic too.

    Like

  18. Ah … the WIP, we all have such a folder; dust it down and let’s see it, Holly :)

    Good to see you liked this one.

    Like

  19. These plants are SO cool but SO DEADLY!!!! How come a PLANT can kill a fly quicker than I can? Riddle me that!

    Like

  20. Very cool cinquain and what an alien plant. Was a great prompt!

    Like

Leave a reply

