Polly

Writings and Witterings

Awdl Gywydd: Raku

29 Comments

A repost of a poem from last year for A2LSM who is interested in form in poetry.

The Awdl Gywydd is a Celtic (Welsh) poetry form that complicates the end rhyme scheme by interlacing an internal rhyme throughout the poem on the second and fourth lines of each stanza. The end rhyme scheme is as follows: a,b,c,b… d,e,f,e, etc.. however, the internal (cross-rhyme) can be placed in either the 3rd, 4th, or 5th, syllable position.
Awdl Gywydd: Raku

Crickle, crackle, raku glaze,
Shattered craze of crafted pots,
Bisque ware fired in burning kilns,
Potters film, peel-off slip shocks.

Excitement lifts temperature,
Glaze is sure to be red hot,
Post fire unpredictable,
Flames a miracle new pot.

Polly Robinson © 2012

Raku ware is the type of Japanese pottery seen in the form of tea bowls in the Japanese tea ceremony. This type of pottery is tricky to fire relying on a complex process that many potters find exciting because it is unpredictable. Raku is more generally recommended for decorative purposes as it is delicate and can crumble if not properly glazed.  To find out more about raku click here.

29 thoughts on “Awdl Gywydd: Raku

  1. Fascinating form! You’ve made it seem effortless, Polly.

    Like

  2. I agree with Misky, it does read effortlessly! I love everything Japanese – think I must have lived there in a past life! :-).

    Like

  3. Polly, I have never attempted one of these, and probably won’t…this shines. Beautifully done!

    Like

  4. very cool…never heard about the form..and pretty cool on the raku as well…the unpredictability making it so exciting..yeah…it does…always..smiles

    Like

  5. Beautifully crafted, very skillful :)

    Like

  6. You make it look so easy, but I know it’s a lot harder than it looks. You have such an amazing gift for words Polly. I can’t wait to try this one. Kinda scared to try it, but try I will! :-) Thank you so much for posting this for me…you are a sweetheart!

    Like

  7. I loved this for reasons beyond me being Welsh. Shared it on my new FB page. Peace :)

    Like

  8. The second raku post/ poem in a week ! I read one on mother blog…….wordpress coincidence !

    Like

  9. Raku
    Wond’rous art form
    Spinning pot, roasting oast
    The alchemy of muse and chance
    New bowl

    Just for you, Polly, an actual form! Now you know I don’t do those often, but I was inspired by your beautiful poem. The Welsh version you used had a musical feel – no surprise, since I remember the Welsh in my hometown of Binghamton gathering yearly at our Congregational Church for an afternoon of Gymanfa Ganu, a Welsh hymn singing fest!

    Lovely write, hon. Peace, Amy

    Like

Leave a reply

