Polly

Writings and Witterings

Voice and Flowers

18 Comments

napo2013button1

Day 14 and Napowrimo wants a persona poem – ‘that is, a poem in the voice of a particular person who isn’t you.’

A ‘poem in the voice of a superhero (or a supervillain)’ was suggested. ‘Comic book characters are very much like mythological characters — they tend to embody big-picture values or personality traits. Good or bad. Loyal or disloyal!’ Greek myth it is, then.

Voice and Flowers

I am proud and I hunt.
You may have heard,
I found my Nemesis,
or rather, she found me,
me, me, me, me.
That wretched Echo
kept following me,
me, me, me, me.

I found it beneath contempt,
so I shouted,
‘Who’s there?’
And she, a mountain nymph,
of all things,
replied ‘Who’s there?’
like she didn’t know me,
me, me, me, me.

Well, no-one told me she’d
been cursed
by Hera,
couldn’t do anything other
than repeat,
repeat, my words.
She was following me,
me, me, me, me.

And now everyone hears her
forever,
as they see me,
me, me, me, me.
I rest beside river banks
a pale flower
that peers at its own
beauty.

Polly Robinson © 2013

Echo and Narcissus as Amaterasu and Susano in ...

Echo and Narcissus as Amaterasu and Susano in a Mirror (Photo credit: timtak)

18 thoughts on “Voice and Flowers

  1. I really like this one, Polly. So clever, and thoroughly fun.

  2. Delightful and well done Polly. My chapeau is off to you and your courage in taking on Napowrimo.

  3. I’m sure I’ve met real live women cursed in a similar way…! ;)

  4. ha that is a very cool take on narcissus…me, me, me…ha…clever one polly

    • Well … people keep going on about our ‘me, me, me,’ society … don’t know that I agree with them especially, but it works with this poem :)

      Thanks for your comments, Claudia, forever welcome.

  5. fantastic phrasing, as is so your style. your me me me me is particularly concise in sound and meaning. great one, Polly! : )

  6. excellent, i really love how the echo works :)

Leave a reply

