Polly

Writings and Witterings

In the Dark of the Moon

26 Comments

The final day of Napowrimo, and the mood darkens with the waning gibbous moon …

A dark tale of the waning gibbous moon,
the one that lurks in the darkness tonight.
Brow louring, eyes glowering,
glittering red pinpricks emit from the pits,
the pity of the city wrapped in
the evanescence of the smile
it smirks
to those who lurk
below.

They that shirk light on the earth,
in the shadow of moonshine,
that work to earn
a place in noir histoire.
They that taunt and haunt the
crooks of alleys, capes folded, who
lay in wait for those with stumbling gait,
who’ve imbibed a jar
or two …

They wait with needles,
keen sharp knives,
those who shiver and shrive themselves

to the priest
of the dark; who leave their mark,
a fusty tang, a taint of dung, blood-letters who
think of mortality only
as banality, forgetting that death
comes to all, and it’s only
a fall away.

Polly Robinson © 2013

20110718 Waning Gibbous Moon

20110718 Waning Gibbous Moon (Photo credit: Degilbo on flickr)

26 thoughts on “In the Dark of the Moon

  1. Dark and sinister! :) Congratulations on completing Napowrimo!

    • heh-heh … that’s good Lea, it was meant to be (!) Sad to say goodbye to the daily poem, it’s a struggle at times, but it’s been fun, and I’m delighted that I’ve managed it this year.

  2. How delightfully sinister.
    Good job w/Napowrimo. Congrats on the commitment and follow-through.

  3. you and I covered both sides of the moon — you did it beautifully (if a bit grimly which is not a criticism). You clearly have a much better grasp of this way of expressing yourself–I have enjoyed your poems immensely this month–you do not seem to have strained yourself (as I have) but blossomed.

    • Gosh, LouAnn, that’s kind of you to say, but it’s been more than a challenge at times, and you’ll have noticed that I departed from the prompts after a while, found them a bit constraining …

      And I think you’re being much too tough on yourself, you’ve kept up and that takes some doing. I’ve enjoyed your work too – well done to us, I say :)

      • yes, I think a little congrats are in order for both of us–I did not do many of the prompts–I just sort of “winged it” most of the time–I enjoyed it, but you seem much more a natural

  4. Sinister and haunting. Well done Polly :)

  5. They wait with needles
    and knives,
    those who shiver and shrive themselves to the priest
    of the dark; who leave their mark… there’s a haunting intensity.. and somehow a disappearing moon seems to give more room to those that wait in the dark…made me shiver a bit..

  6. Great sounds come from those in the dark of the waning moon1 Congraulations Polly – well done this month! And thanks for your very kind visits. k.

    • heh-heh nice comments, thanks k. It has been more than a challenge on occasion, but well worth it in due course, I’ve learnt so much ~ always good to see you here :)

  7. masterful! congrats on a month well spent. It was fun to read your pieces this April. I think you’re just getting warmed up. ;)

    • heh-heh … don’t know about that Jane ~ I’ve enjoyed reading your pieces too ~ quite nice to have a day off, though I do have one about Beltane to be posted tomorrow :)

  8. Noir at its best, and a perfect – if discomfiting – way to end NaPoWriMo. I love your attention to the phases of the moon, the waxing and waning, its power over us, even under cover of darkness, even the nefarious deeds committed in the name of “because no one will catch me – it’s too dark!” Powerful stuff, Polly, and congrats and making it through April! Amy

    • I am pleased you like my moon poetry, Amy. Thanks for saying so :)

      Congrats to you re completing Napowrimo, your final ‘portrait of the artist …’ poem was a pleasing finale to our busy month. X

  9. Mega.

    • Nice comment ‘Anonymous’ ~ I’m always curious as to who my ‘anonymous’ commentators are, perhaps you’ll identify yourself if we ever should meet :)

Leave a reply

