Polly

Writings and Witterings

Saint Patrick

12 Comments

On St Patrick’s Day – a poem for Mike and all my Irish friends.

shamrockSaint Patrick

Calpurnius and Conchessa
had a little boy
who was captured
aged just fourteen.
They took him to Ireland
to herd and tend sheep
in a land of Druids and pagans.

He prayed hundreds of prayers
’til a voice said to him,
‘Go to the coast, my son.’
He found sailors
who let him board their ship
a man returned
to his Scottish home.

But he dreamt of Ireland
the people there called,
‘We beg you to come back to us.’

Ordained a bishop
he went back to Slane,
travelled all Ireland,
did his best to explain
the trinity
through the shamrock.
His stick grew into a tree.
‘Tis said snakes were banished by he.

Polly Robinson © 2014

12 thoughts on “Saint Patrick

  1. A happy Saint Patrick’s day to you Polly!

  2. Ha! Glad this one meets your approval, Joe :)

  3. Your ode pays fine tribute Polly and the dedication is greatly appreciated. I hereby grant you Honorary Irishness!
    Sláinte :D

    • Ah, begorrah, and isn’t it my pleasure, Mike :)

      I shall enjoy my Honorary Irishness, for sure, for sure.

      Sláinte to you too!

  4. Polly, you have certainly captured the essence of the day! Well done!

    I’m told my grandfather’s mother was from Ireland so perhaps there is a drop of it in me. However, I know next to nothing about her except her first name. Twas my Welsh grandmother that taught me so many of the old Irish songs and on a good day, I can still hear her singing them!

    bisous et calins, :) x

    • heh-heh… it was a given that I was to do something for St Patrick’s day as Mike from Aus commented when I did the poem for St George’s day :) Glad you liked it, Lea.

  5. This was very special, my first original poem I have read today! Happy St. Patrick’s Day (almost over…) Smiles, Robin

  6. :D A poem well done ;) The Irish in me thanks you, Polly!
    Time for dinner and getting ready to serve my annual corned beef and cabbage (my specialty/secret recipe ;)
    Happy St Pat’s Day to you ;)

  7. Wonderful to have the story laid out so elegantly and with such charm. (Lucky.). Thanks. K.

Leave a reply

