Polly

Writings and Witterings

Love Bites

24 Comments

I had to be an optimist
happy through and through
to perpetually smile
and swing along with you
what times we had
some good times glowing bright and new
remnant embers shining
with sultry amber hue.

Remember the embers?
the soft and sultry glow?
Now crunch along life’s ashy path
mind how the cinders blow
they’ll cut your eyes and make them bleed
for love has teeth that bite
these wounds will never ever heal
there are no words to help congeal
or close those cold love bites.

Polly Robinson © 1989

Published in On the Words of Love (Brian Wrixton & Poets with Voices Strong, 2012)

24 thoughts on “Love Bites

  1. Polly, that was scathing!

    Dorothy Parker would have been proud to write that and I don’t say that easily. :)

    Like

  2. You were writing such good poetry 25 years ago? Well done, Polly, and for continuing to write poetry as well…

    Like

    • My… thank you Marina – I was writing poetry longer ago than that, but I think this one is the oldest one I’ve ever published on my blog – glad you enjoyed it.

      Like

  3. Beautifully written, Polly. I love the juxtaposition of the two stanzas. :-)

    Like

    • Thank you, Angela, it’s so rewarding when a comment about an intention is made. The juxtaposition is the essence of the poem :)

      Like

  4. An excellent piece! A glimpse of an earlier you perhaps?

    Like

  5. Wow…this is amazing Polly. You captured it perfectly. And I’m in awe that you wrote this 25 years ago. I hadn’t even thought I would one day try my hand at poetry back then. You have a true gift :-)

    Like

    • Thanks Kirsten, glad you enjoyed it, ‘Love Bites’ is one of my faves – I should thank Heartafire, whose poem ‘Landscapes’ put me in mind of it – I might not have posted it otherwise :)

      Like

  6. As far back as 1989, you were churning out such wonderful poetry, Polly. Marvellous.

    Cheers,
    Eric

    Like

  7. a biting commentary :) wonderful transition imagery from embers to cinders – K

    Like

  8. I hadn’t noticed that this was written in 1989 until saw reference to that in another comment! You’ve been at this a long time, Polly…and wonderfully too I might add. Love does sometimes bite although just as I wrote that I realized that it’s probably no longer called love when it starts “biting.”

    Like

  9. I spotted the date, but still loved it- ouch!

    Like

  10. Oooh lovely passion in that one – wouldn’t want to get on the wrong side of you and appear in a poem hehe!

    Like

  11. It may have been twenty five years ago but oh yes the bite. I think I could borrow it for now…oh to perpetually smile to go along with you… oh yeah…Great write and great bite! Love it! ;)

    Like

Leave a reply

