Polly

Writings and Witterings

Michelangelo

26 Comments

First line from ‘The Munich Mannequins’ by Sylvia Plath
David - Michelangelo

Michelangelo

‘Perfection is terrible, it cannot have children ,’
sterile, frustrated, it comes to decay.
Michelangelo wept when he found perfection,
took up his hammer, he could not delay.
None stayed his hand as he lunged at his David,
breaking his heart
on that cool summer day.
Birthing his talent
the last chip was chipped
off 
the warm marble block
with its dust sweet bouquet.
His dismay;
tears on his cheeks, sugar spray.
Perfection,
deception,
confection of lies,
conception of lies.
They tried to do it away.

Polly Robinson © 2014

26 thoughts on “Michelangelo

  1. Reblogged this on poetry, photos and musings oh my! and commented:
    Another gem from Polly!

    Like

  2. Wonderful Polly! I hope you won’t mind the re-blog… :)

    Like

  3. That is some good work polly

    Like

  4. Simmering it may have been, it has matured wonderfully. I love the imagery :)

    Like

  5. Wonderfull write, I enjoyed it very much.

    Like

  6. Polly, I love the photograph in your header. Wonderful.

    Well we are not all Michalangelo, We love his work, however perfect it may be, and I enjoyed your poem, Polly. Well done.

    Like

  7. Ah, the ever-elusive perfection. Loved the poem.

    I finished your pamphlet of poems on Chatterton. Really wonderful, and I enjoyed learning about this tragic lad. The poem by “The Mother” about broke my heart. I didn’t see the collection on Amazon though to review. I’ll check on Goodreads. Only Polly could get me to read a collection of themed poems. And I’m so glad I did!

    Like

    • I’ve always loved that line from Plath and this poem started in a workshop as a response to that… so I’m glad you like ‘Michelangelo’ and thank you for commenting, Carrie.

      And of course I’m delighted that you enjoyed Chatterton, he was a tragic young man, and as you’ll know he’s continued to inspire many people – including me – since his awful death at just 17 years of age. It’s not on Amazon as we’ve limited the first edition to just 50 pamphlets; each one is numbered and signed. But you have made me think that I should put a post up for people who might like to get their own copy. I’ll be doing this later today. Thanks very much, Carrie. You’ve done me a favour. It is on my publisher’s website, but my own blogging friends may have missed the post about that.
      :) x

      Like

  8. Much rhyme-iness here! It sort of has a cascade effect as you read it with the rhythm. Nice.

    Like

  9. Great Polly – and I particularly like the use of ‘Birthing’ wonderful metaphor for the sculptor’s art.

    Like

    • I read Irving Stone’s ‘The Agony And The Ecstasy’ years ago (the poem started its life as a result) and loved it – adore the idea of a shape being almost visible to a sculptor, that they need only reveal it, and thought: just like giving birth :) Thanks for you comments Di :)

      Like

Leave a reply

