Polly

Writings and Witterings

Paradelle Of Prague

45 Comments

The wonderful city of Prague in the spring

The wonderful city of Prague in the spring – with acknowledgement to http://www.pragueproteinspring.org

 

Oh my…the things I do for dVerse and Brian Miller specifically…he’s challenged us to write a paradelle, so here’s my attempt.

Paradelle Of Prague

You will never visit Prague with me,
you will never visit Prague with me,
no matter what you do or how long you live,
no matter what you do or how long you live,
what you do – no matter – or how long you live,
Prague, you will never visit with me.

I have been to Spain with you,
I have been to Spain with you,
I have been in pain with you,
I have been in pain with you,
I have been to Spain in pain with you,
In pain I have been to Spain with you.

I went to Lanzarote with you,
I went to Lanzarote with you,
Lanzarote has a pretty Old Town
Lanzarote has a pretty Old Town
I went to Lanzarote.
Pretty was Lanzarote Old Town, with you.

I have been to Spain in pain with you,
In pain I have been to Spain with you.
I went to Lanzarote.
A pretty Old Town was Lanzarote, with you.
What you do – no matter – or how long you live,
You will never visit Prague with me.

Polly Robinson © 2014

Take a look at dVerse Poets Meeting The Bar – Form For All and join in!

Brian advised that the paradelle is a 4-stanza poem, where each stanza consists of 6 lines.

For the first 3 stanzas, the 1st and 2nd lines should be the same; the 3rd and 4th lines should also be the same; and the 5th and 6th lines should be composed of all the words from the 1st and 3rd lines and only the words from the 1st and 3rd lines.

The final stanza should be composed of all the words in the 5th and 6th lines of the first three stanzas and only the words from the 5th and 6th lines of the first three stanzas.

The paradelle is one of the more demanding French fixed forms, first appearing in the langue d’oc love poetry of the eleventh century. It is a poem of four six-line stanzas in which the first and second lines, as well as the third and fourth lines of the first three stanzas, must be identical. The fifth and sixth lines, which traditionally resolve these stanzas, must use all the words from the preceding lines and only those words. Similarly, the final stanza must use every word from all the preceding stanzas and only those words.

45 thoughts on “Paradelle Of Prague

  1. Polly, once again you have introduced me to a form I am unfamiliar with. Merci beaucoup! Perhaps I shall give it a try. ;)

    Like

  2. I’d never heard of it either, Léa, but I quite like it ;) I’d love you to try it :)

    Like

  3. I like the pain in Spain theme…it gave you room to play with the form ;)

    Like

  4. … I had a head ache after this prompt; looks like you made it through

    Like

  5. we have shared all these places but we will never share prague….how sad…sounds like spain was the tipping point…ha…spain in pain….sounds like my language classes from high school….smiles….that last line sounds like they are pretty adamant, there will be no prague….ha…you pull off the form well polly…the repeated lines actually give yours a sing song rather jaunty feel….

    Like

  6. Ha! I guess if the final line mirrors the first, it is pretty emphatic! Thanks for your comments, Brian, and thanks again for a great prompt :)

    Like

  7. a delightful read…

    Like

  8. I too like the combination of Spain with pain in the second stanza and how the theme of traveling reflects on the dying relationship.

    Like

  9. Like this form. Never encountered it before, but you really made it work well

    Like

  10. Oh, I loved this – at once melancholy and funny!

    Like

  11. Wow, your piece got me tickled, because as Brian noted, there is a sing-song “pain in Spain” quality to this that makes the lines “Limerick-like”. I had fun reading it; hope you got a few smiles popping while writing it.

    Like

  12. I knew it was some sort of form as I read it; impressive! x

    Like

  13. I feel the strong yearning for Prague in this poem and the sadness that the other will not visit it. Prague is a beautiful city indeed.

    Like

  14. The places we could have visited.. I feel the keen sense of loss in the fact that Prague can be a lonely place without a special friend.

    Like

  15. I’m not sure I could even attempt such a style. Still, may be worth a shot.

    Like

  16. Wow Polly! Just bear with me while I go away for a week to digest all this! I think I could tie myself in more knots than I am already entangled in trying one of these! You’ve done a great job! x

    Like

  17. Excellent poem Polly, you explored the form so very well and took me on a little journey as well. Loved it.

    Like

  18. no Prague? that pain in Spain must have been pretty intense. this was enjoyable. you did a nice job with this insane form.

    Like

  19. Really well done, Polly! Thanks! k.

    Like

  20. What I meant to say is that the repetition works especially well here as it has both a feeling of nagging and resignation. It’s quite effective. k.

    Like

  21. Excellent, Polly…really enjoyed your paradelle…a bit of a melancholic resignation feeling. Funny little form isn’t it? It kind of grew on me though as I wrote mine and read others. Nice to be visiting you again. :)

    Like

    • Great to be back with dVerse, Gayle. I’ve still not moved house, but hoping it won’t be too long now. Thanks for your comments :)

      Like

  22. Looks like a tricky form…well done!

    Like

  23. Wow – impressive :)

    Like

  24. This holds so much meaning and hope that someone will visit the places you would like to have a partner with. Take care, Robin

    Like

Leave a reply

