Polly

Writings and Witterings

Night Walk on British Camp

14 Comments

With acknowledgement to sunset-british-camp-www.amazingview.co.uk

With acknowledgement to sunset-british-camp-www.amazingview.co.uk

Night Walk

In the depths of night the sky is sulky,
walkers set out for the brow of the hill.
Around British Camp and down, down Shire Ditch
where ill-willed faeries live, love, fly and dance.
They avoid Waum’s Cave for fear of the witch
who lives alone, low down deep, far away.

A crossroads appears, with pointing way stones,
to north, to south, to direct the unwary,
no one can vouchsafe their accuracy.
Do the walkers’ know it pays to be chary?
The ill-willed fae move the markers
so the wenders’ and walkers’ strong boots go astray.

The witch steps on twigs and rattles old leaves
and the sky darkens more, charcoals to grey,
turns to pitch black as torch batteries run out
the walkers now feeling, stealing their way
over hillocks and humps, bracken and bumps,
in the depths of the night at the end of the day.

Polly Robinson © 2014

14 thoughts on “Night Walk on British Camp

  1. Polly, this has a real feel of walking (and getting lost or disoriented at night) especially in a historical landscape! Very fun. Thanks. k.

    Like

    • There is something distinctly eerie about walking the hills at night…but I love it ;)

      Like

      • We have a bit too much wildlife here this time of year–bears and coyotes–so I’m a little afraid to walk at night much. I think they are afraid of people too but my fear of them is probably greater. k.

        Like

        • Oh wow, k! I think I’d be put off by such large critters! The biggest we have are foxes and badgers and they’re more scared of us than we are of them :)

          Like

  2. My money’s on the witch. Poor walkers. I’m not sure they stand a chance. ;)

    Wonderful mood to this one.

    Like

  3. This is so full of atmosphere Polly, I felt as though I was there, looking over my shoulder in a kind of excited fear! Lovely. Xx and again you educated me! I googled British Camp 😊. Never heard of it; I feel Im beginnibg to learn rather late in life, though its never too late and as you have said before if you stop learning thats the time to be worried 😊. But Im learning so much in blog land, Im wondering if Ive ever known anything!! 😄

    Like

    • How lovely that you’re making so many discoveries :) The Malvern Hills are just eight miles away from where I live now and it’s always a joy to walk them…I was brought up in Malvern, so it’s a special place for me :)

      Like

  4. Any lack of fundamental knowledge I put down to chasing boys instead of education at school!! 😄😄

    Like

  5. a beautiful walk in that zone between reality and fantasy world

    Like

  6. A shiver up my spine. What a lovely story. You do this so well.

    Like

Leave a reply

